Community Classifieds

(Return to Community Classifieds Link)

(Deadline for submission is the Friday before publication. Most items are published for two weeks.)

MWS continues to recycle all toner cartridges and cell phones, just bring them to either office.  Storage is easier if toner boxes are recycled at home.  Thank you!

Fresh Local Food from our Community

Become a member of Milkweed Farm this season: We are a small family farm committed to growing healthy, delicious food for our children and the local community. Our Farm shares include vegetables, medicinal and culinary herbs, fruits (rhubarb, strawberries, melons), and flower bouquets from late May through September. We also offer egg and meat shares (pork and turkey). This year we will be offering a Freeport drop off for Merriconeag families. To find out more about our farm and practices or to download our 2014 application, please check out our website, You can also contact Lucretia Woodruff at 725-4554 with any questions.

Other Items:

The costume room is in need of sturdy hangers. If you have any non-wire hangers to donate, please leave them in the boxes provided in the lower and upper school. Thank you!

Mother's Helper Available: My name is Kira Salter-Gurau. I am 11 y.o. and in the 5th Grade at Merriconeag. I just completed the requirements for the Red Cross Babysitting Course and am excited to take care of kids from about 4 y.o. to 8 y.o. I love playing with kids and like doing crafts, playing games and going outside with them. I'm comfortable preparing snacks and have had experience with being a Mother's Helper for my neighbors and my younger sister and her friends. Please contact my mother, Trace Salter,, 207/756.9212 if you would like my help. Thank you. Submitted by Kira Salter-Gurau (04//08)

My daughter Sara Standish,( friend of Mattie Daughtry (2001) ), her husband Ben Hansen, and their new born baby boy are looking for a house sitting experience. They are happy to keep watch over someone's house, pets (if they like babies), plants and gardens. They would like one or two weeks in August. Please contact me, J. Standish at 729-4735. (04/08)

Returning to Maine and looking for a great place to live: I am a single executive man with a low impact lifestyle.
Ideally a bright sunny one bedroom or large studio apartment, with wood floors. Location is flexible between Portland and Brunswick. Near or on the water a plus! I am being assisted by a MWS Parent, please contact Heidi at 207 844 0561. (04/01)

Summer child care and/or housesitting available in Portland area. I am a 26 year-old Maine native, starting a family nurse practitioner program at Yale at the end of August, with a background in international development and community organizing (my BA is from Brown). I am going to spend the summer in Portland to be with family and am looking for summer babysitting work (I have babysat on the side for the past 10 years, ages ranging from infant to 12 years old). I am also interested in housesitting for periods, as my parents' home is cozy! I am available from May 1 - Aug. 15. Very happy to provide references, resume, etc. I can be reached at (04/01)

Return to Community Classifieds Link